#WhyIWrite

writing

Tuesday October 20th was the National Council of English Teachers’ National Day on Writing and to mark the occasion several IEI writing classes participated by responding to the simple prompt, “Why I write…”

Here are the responses from the Level 400 College Writing class. How would YOU respond?

Why I write…

…to speak by my hand. To get all my ideas out of my brain, and to have the chance to do them.

…is that writing can organize my thought and idea more easily. When I am confused in my situation writing is helpful to arrange my current situation.

… to improve my critical thinking. To leave my stress out. To contact with other. To effect peoples mind by my writing. To save my time.

… actually I didn’t like writing, before I came the U.S. Now, I like to write. Because I know that writing is useful for learning English and make me creative.

… I would like writing when I was a child, I feel that writing recover my emotions especially when I am in bad mood. Indeed, writing is a best way to say something that you can’t say in some situation. I write to empty my depression or to feel more warm. I love writing!

… I write to tell what is my opinion, what am I thinking, and how is my feeling. I write to express my emotion instead of saying it, because sometimes it’s not suitable to say it out.

… I write to express my feeling. I believe words have strong power to change people’s lives, opinions, or thought positively or negatively. I think writing as art. You have ideas and try to show them to other people in the best picture. As you choose your colors and lines carefully to get a good work in art, you choose words carefully to get good writing.

… because writing need a lot of skills. I’m not good at writing that is why I write.

… because I have to write to improve writing skills and in fact it don’t make me happy. However, in my opinion when my writing skills will be improved, I will adore doing it because I have a lot of thoughts that I want to write correctly.

… because writing is the most important and I can write what I think about it. I write because I would like to study at university.

…because I want to study undergraduate in the U.S. If I don’t know how to write or learn how to write, I can’t apply to university.

Leave a comment